RSS

Bigger Things

21 Jan

I hope you’re one of the lucky ones who left untouched,
But I know you don’t get to be that strong without trauma.
I know.
We knew of each other.
We knew each other before we met.
I met you today and I know your history, our background.
I know your weaknesses, your triumphs, your fears, your life.
And you know mine.
Our visions intersect and today our lives did too (finally).
We have each other.
To confide in.
To revolutionize with.
To bitch at.
To understand.
Holy fuck Chicana mamas, you are raining them down to me like acid rain.
I feel the burn of the polluted water, but I like it.
I swim in the pain with her.
And it feels so good.
We will swim, swim, and swim some more.
Over bowls.
Over coffee.
Over the desert.
Over our home.
And bigger things will come because our lives are now one.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 21, 2013 in Her stories

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Bigger Things

  1. Gregório

    January 26, 2013 at 4:49 pm

    beautiful. shows the power of community, solidarity, and friendship. I like how it ends looking to the future and the “bigger things [that] will come”. great poem.

     

Leave a Reply

 
